I've heard it sooo many times from individuals on the left side--jumping to the only mainstream news source that is obviously Republican based. I saw it on somebody's video link today; he was using the video to make some points and pretty much the first thing an obviously liberal friend of his commented was "Did you get those figures from FOX news?" (I'm paraphrasing to a certain degree of course). Now, understand, the guy commenting appears to be older and seems to personify somewhat of an educated man, but when it comes to the "FOX news argument", it transcends educational boundaries into what many believe to be a clever argument. And for me, when that FOX News shpill is brought into it as a counter-point, I pretty much throw every comment that person had out the window as anything remotely useful to the conversation, despite something valid they might have added to the discussion at some point, simply because it shows a lack of respect for the person you're debating with (and many know that when you're trying to have a civil debate, once you personify blatant disrespect, you kinda lose your weight in the discussion).
The fact is: there are PLENTY of conservatives that can craft their own opinions just fine without the help of Bill O' Reilly. As with any news station, percentages are going to be flawed and weighted. That's just the inconvenient truth. A lot of people that decide to pursue publicizing their opinion or a do an "investigative report" form a conclusion first and build evidence that supports it, rather than investigating facts and THEN forming an opinion. I guess it's not necessarily something to condemn them for, but more or less an observation. I guess as a slightly more independent-conservative myself, I just like to hear what others have to say and be open to the possibility that there's other paths to take and just cause you're on the other side of the aisle doesn't make everything you believe a load of crap. I know I know....any of you that may have seen me debate might think I'm pretty close-minded and everything I believe is set in stone, but sometimes expressing one's opinion is the only way to hear another's point of view that might not be so convoluted. I do get this very heavy vibe when I debate with Democrats, though, that they believe they are the much more open-minded, rational, accepting individuals in our country.....but that's a rant for a whole 'nother day. :)
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
First!
ReplyDelete(sorry just had to do that, haha)
The MSM lost my trust a long time ago. It seems that their broadcasts now are 90% opinion and 10% actual reporting. The MSM are so bad that I just get most of my news from the internet (AP), and some of my headlines from news parody shows in Comedy Central and SNL (at least it's not as depressing to watch as MSM).
Saying that, I don't think there's any MSM channel out there that are more opinion-based and has a longer track record of fudging data than Fox news. The success of Fox news, I think, is partly to blame on why the MSMs are so bad today. Fox proved that news and entertainment combined are profitable, so the other channels followed along. And being the only right-leaning MSM out there just makes it an easy (and only) target for liberals.
Although I agree that simply invoking Fox news to win an argument is (putting it mildly) douchey, there is a possibility that your sarcastic friend is using it just to make sure that you are using a reliable source. But like you said, it only works against him.